The Lord has shown me a new word picture… Recently we had a palm tree die in the backyard… I had sprayed Roundup as usual on the weeds at the bottom of the tree but because I had not covered up the roots with mulch recently, the roots were exposed. The wind carried the round up onto the roots. The tree died! 

I began to see the visual that God wanted me to see concerning our lives. The roots of the palm were exposed and unprotected… The mulch would represent the Armor of God. When I saw that, without the mulch/armor, surrounding the roots, the life force of the tree, the weeds grew up around it.  I knew the weeds didn’t belong. The weeds, in today’s analogy, were the troubles and cares in this life, the stress, the love of money, the focus on idols instead of Him, the sin that so easily entangles us.

I attempted to rid the tree of these weeds/struggles and cares that were going to choke it out and at the very least make it look ugly.  I sprayed Roundup, a poison.  It was my attempt at fixing the problem. The wind picked up the poison and it blew onto the exposed roots.  

I now realize it was just a distraction… Blown by the lies of the devil to try to cover up the problem…sin, when not dealt with correctly, can make problems worse … this can lead to even greater troubles and worse sin… not protected by the Armor of God, and eventually, lead to destruction… 

The short list of sins could be found in Galatians chapter five, where it says that Idolatry, witchcraft hatred, discord, dissensions, factions, jealousy, sexual immorality, impurity, debauchery, drunkenness, and orgies, fits of rage, selfish ambitions, and envy are things that would keep you from inheriting the kingdom of God… As I attempted to rid the weeds with just a distraction of evil intent… My tree died… The life source left… 

Galatians chapter five also lists the gifts of the Holy Spirit and if I had provided mulch/armor, for the tree, death wouldn’t have happened. Love, Joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self-control would have been the result. If I had applied the Armor to the roots,  along with a faith that can move mountains, the tree would’ve lived. It would’ve provided shade and beauty.

 

