Word picture from Bible study and overview

September 6, 2016

Powerful links at the bottom of this email

I needed to stand… I had sat too long… I felt the need to stretch while I listened to Priscilla Shirer give us the Word of God about His armor.

I got up and walked to the back and I saw the wall and I realized that no one was looking at me… I was behind everyone.

I saw the opportunity to fulfill two goals at one time. I now believe it was God who put that thought in my head as we were being encouraged by Darlene to think about word pictures.

I began exercising. I had fallen behind in my strengthening of the shoulder after torn rotator cuff surgery and I was losing ground and I knew it. Distraction had been my enemy. My excuse… I could never find the time! And here I was again realizing …I missed my morning exercise routine yet again!

I took the opportunity, of apparent seclusion, to work the shoulder out and strengthen it while I was strengthening my spirit, listening to Priscilla.  I, then realized, that the wall that I was leaning on ….attempting push-ups, was RED!

God began revealing the meaning of the word picture he had just shown me:

The wall was Blood red. And I had to connect with the blood Red wall to get the best of my flesh… To strengthen my flesh. Without the Red wall ….pressing and holding and leaning into, to get strong, I wouldn’t get stronger, I would only get weaker.

Just at that moment, Priscilla said “We are all in a cosmic wrestling match” and automatically, I realized the “God set up” of this moment. I needed to exert strength and exercise that muscle to get strength. Use the Red wall… get connected with the Red wall… without the blood of Jesus we are nothing! Without Jesus and our connection to Jesus (his blood) we are nothing.  We will be weak! Hold on, I know this isn’t clear yet but keep reading… this is just the start.

The devil wants me to be distracted and have no time. He wants me to be tired and lacking strength, to have pain forevermore. His greatest desire is to distract and discourage me. Those are all demonic battles!

Ephesians chapter 6 says “12-13… For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms. Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand.”

It goes on to say that we put on the belt of Truth, the breastplate of Righteousness, the feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of Peace, the shield of Faith, the helmet of Salvation and the sword of the Spirit. Also it follows, that we are to pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. We are called to be alert and always keep on praying for all the saints.  Matthew 26:41

When I pressed into the wall I realized that the discomfort I was feeling in my stiff joints and weak muscles, was trying to distract me from this word picture he was giving me.

The devil wants me weak!  He wants you weak! That’s why we need to put on God’s armor.  When we are weak He is strong. 2 Corinthians 12:9

We need to cover ourselves with the blood of Jesus! And his mighty armor!

“We can get tired and discouraged and focus on flesh with our five senses experience,” Priscilla was saying. “This flesh experience draws us away from the joy of the Lord as our strength.”

 

Joy diminishes… Pain is uncomfortable and actually, if allowed to… Will change our thought patterns, it changes our attitudes and actions, and changes the brain chemicals and causes depression.… It’s a vicious cycle. And the devil loves it.

 

My mind was brought back to the video and Priscilla was saying that “…the devil is invisible but not fiction. He is real. He affects me/us in everyday living.”

 

I do isometric exercises that don’t look like much … Pressing against the wall, leaning into the wall exerting my effort to lean in but feeling strength from the wall. Slowly changing my weak muscles into strong ones.  Slow and steady wins the battle.

 

It takes time… in the same way, it is a journey of persistence and patience to exercise faith to get strong in the Spirit. But faith is a gift just like the armor of God… Even faith comes from God. Everything we have, every gift we received comes from God.

 

Prayer is the exercise…. it’s also the activator! It is part of the armor of God. Prayer, the Bible says is to be in secret, in our prayer closet, it is sometimes silent …but in those times in the privacy of our room our cries to God can be loud. We are taught by the Word of God to pray in the Spirit and with understanding. Sometimes it is just groaning’s and utterings that come out of our mouth. That’s when the Holy Spirit intercedes for us. Romans 8:26 Jude 1:20

 

We are to pray continually.  Why would we want to take off a part of our armor? Prayer, to some people, doesn’t make sense, just like isometric exercise doesn’t make sense because it doesn’t look like you’re moving anything. But Prayer works to activate power of God.

 

Yes, there are times where you can go backward in your spiritual journey or in your physical rehabilitation. If I miss a few days against the wall with isometric exercises I get weak and resist the idea to try again because now I’m sore and uncomfortable….. If I miss my times with the Lord for a week or two… My connection with him grows distant… Further and further away from His presence, His power.  I become ineffective and lose boldness and confidence and peace and the power to make the decisions according to the Spirit of God. It becomes more and more difficult to open that Bible to renew connection.

 

I don’t know about you but I enjoy his presence. And don’t realize what I’ve missed until it’s gone and I experience the weakness and the worry and the lack of courage, joy, inspiration and peace.

 

If I miss my “leaning” connection with the Red wall where I get the strengthening, I will have no strength. I will get weaker and weaker and further away from the goal of being strong. Strong enough to do the things that I’ve done in the past. I’ve become a “watcher” and not a “doer” …ineffective for sure. James 1:22

 

The LEANING on the Red wall is where I am getting my strength. I don’t know about you but I enjoy being strong and being able to do the things that God has planned for me to do. Jeremiah 29:11

 

Priscilla went on to say, that “We have to get behind the curtain, to the root, that is the principalities and powers of the evil forces in this dark world. Aim your strategies. Use the weapons God gave you. They are accessible to you at all times,”

 

I got trained by a pro physical therapist after the torn rotator cuff surgery.  Upon graduation from rehab, I was given my tools… Stretch bands, weights and printed directions. Then I was left on my own to do the work of strengthening. The Physical therapist didn’t go with me. He was not there to encourage me. I had the choice to get stronger or not. I had instructions and tools but no encourager, power giver.  In ignorance, I let distraction allow me to miss a few days of exercises to gain strength and I lost ground.

 

I want to experience pain free living and go wake boarding again!  But it is my choice!

 

But God, unlike the physical therapist, goes with me everywhere… He never leaves me nor forsakes me. He even left us with printed directions!!! In addition, he left us tools (the armor), gifts he gave because we need them. Matthew 28:20   Hebrews 13:5

 

I can lean on him at all times! I can put on his armor every morning before I even get out of bed. I can call on him at all times! He is Faithful! Psalms 57:10

 

So it is with our spirit! We are called to exercise our spirit.  Priscilla at that point was saying something about how Christ is seated in heavenly places and so is the devil and demonic influences. She continued saying, how WE are alive and saved by grace and seated IN heavenly places TOO.  This was a new revelation for me.

 

We can access all the spiritual blessings and weapons at all times. I use bands and weights as tools besides the wall, but these tools are sitting in my upstairs bedroom… Very inconvenient and hidden away from sight. (Out of sight out of mind they say). Is your sword of the Spirit, your Bible, within plain sight at all times? A lot of times we leave it on the shelf in the bedroom. Sometimes it is in our car for when we go to church.

 

  • The Word of God says to meditate on his word day and night and to store it up in your heart to keep you from sinning.Joshua 1:8–9

 

I think that sounds a lot like memorizing don’t you?  I’ve tried to do that and do it often.  You never know when the Lord needs to use that scripture to minister to someone else or just for yourself.

 

The Bible, to be honest, is not in my hand physically at all times. Even though, I need to be READY…I need to put on The Shoes shod with the readiness of peace… part of the armor! We have to be ready! I think memorizing is part of being ready not only to recognize “the way out” 1 Corinthians 10:13 but also to give “comfort” to others with the comfort you have received from God. 2 Corinthians 1:3–7. We need to be dressed fully with the shoes shod with the readiness of the gospel of peace.

 

I had to look around (Way behind me) to see my way out. God promises us that he puts before us a way out when we are tempted or tested. 2 Corinthians 10:13   I had found a Red wall. He gave me a wall in that room to lean on and press into, so I wouldn’t fall behind and get weak shoulder muscles. But in his mercy and grace it was the color RED to allow me to see his heart and understand.  Lean on Him, press into Him!  Stay connected with Him!

 

 

I need RESISTANCE to get strong?? To mature and be complete? Hmmmmm….. Holy Spirit what are you saying?

  • Our road map for life, the Bible says, “Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance. Perseverance must finish its work so you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.” James1:2-4
  • God’s infallible Word says to, “Cast all your anxiety on me, because He cares for you.”

1 Peter 5:7

  • The inerrant Word of God says in Philippians 4:6, “Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.”
  • The Holy Word of God says that, “We have not because we ask not.” James 4:3.

 

The Bible says it…the Bible is inerrant truth …and I believe it!

 

Sometimes everything in life goes well and we don’t really have any troubles to bring before the Lord. Sometimes the lack of trouble brings us to a place where we even forget about God. We forget to put on His armor! It leaves us unprotected and vulnerable.  I know that’s happened to me.

 

That’s when the lack of connection to Jesus, to the Red wall, happens… It gets easier and easier to forget THE SOURCE of your strength. You get distracted… But then the trouble happens and we face the trials. We are now weak because we have missed our connection with the Lord, where our strength comes from.

 

  • In the perfect word of God, the Bible, it says that “He gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak… But those who HOPE in the Lord will renew their strength. They will run and not grow weary and they will walk and not be faint.” Isaiah 40:28-29 It says, they WILL run, walk, not faint!

 

Priscilla was right when she said, “Prayer taps us into the heavenly places where the battle is won.” Prayer is our exercise to grow our spirit and fight the battle. Fervent …activated prayer is then used to activate the armor so God can operate fully in my life! This is so I can fight against the schemes of the evil forces in the heavenly places!” I keyed in on Priscilla’s words… “Prayer is our Internet, Skype access to have an audience with the Father! He fights the battle! And “no weapon formed against us shall stand”” Isaiah 54:17

 

The Bible says it…the Bible is inerrant truth …and I believe it!

 

Priscilla went on to say, “Our weapons are not physical, our weapons are spiritual. The full armor of God is God’s armor (Isaiah 59:17.) Put on God’s armor not anyone else’s!”

 

If I don’t do all the exercises that the physical therapist gave me to do, am I putting on all the strength that I need? I can choose! Priscilla began explaining how we needed every piece to be put on for each piece had a purpose. That is why we need to put on the FULL armor of God as they say in the Bible. If we only put on one or two pieces of the armor we are still not protected. We will not win the battle.

 

Priscilla went on to say again, “Victory has been won! It is it revocable! In the end… Yes… GOD WINS!!!”

 

God wins! Be strong in the Lord! Be ready! Prayer is the exercise and a prayer activates the power.

 

Oh my…. here comes more… I know this is getting long but he keeps inspiring me to say more…hang on it is good! He is getting scientific…..

 

Exercise of the body activates the ATP (Power source) which comes from three different bio-chemicals in the body system, Phosphagen and glycogen and aerobic respiration.  When you start to look at how the whole human body works it is amazing!  It is truly an amazing machine that God created.   I think it is interesting… ATP Energy… to build strength then movement. It comes from three power sources… God has three parts… Hmmmmmm.  Any thoughts? Oh, I love and see word pictures everywhere now J

 

Prayer activates the power of God!

 

Priscilla continued… “You bring your Heavenly Father into this situation through calling on his name in prayer.”

 

Prayer strategies:

  1. Be authentic… Be you.
  2. Keep it personal and intentional
  3. Praise him
  4. Repent. Let go …let God and turn away and do it God’s way
  5. Ask… God created with spoken word so put voice to your needs.
  6. Yes … Say “Yes Lord …your ways, your thoughts, put me where you want to and tell me what to do… yes! Send me …I will go.”

 

In those few minutes, I learned to love that Red wall that called me to come and touch and lean into it… Him…

 

Priscilla continued… “Put on Christ’s armor… No one else’s… The armor of God fits me and you divinely… It fits…!!!!”

 

  • “Throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us….. Therefore, strengthen your feeble arms and weak knees. Make level paths for your feet, so the lame may not be disabled, but rather healed.” Hebrews chapter 12 …

 

Throw off sin and put on the armor of God!

 

Isaiah 61:3 says that not only do we put on armor but we also “wear a garment of praise.” But that’s another lesson.😊

 

I learned today to “Press in” literally to receive the “prize” Heb 12, though it may seem difficult at first. I have learned to never go without the armor of God.

 

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLoKuEQJkAlYQHGBuDSRDo30awECTLj_yB

 

https://youtu.be/7bLqOH4VfNM

 

