December 11, 2016, devotional 4 AM

Wow! This is going to be interesting… I awoke this morning with the song “All I want for Christmas is you.”

I awoke also with the words penetrating my thoughts…”Can you have a Christmas without the Christ?” I had awoken at 3 AM as well with the exact same thoughts and song popping into my head…

OK, Lord, let’s go! What are you trying to say to me?  Please speak Lord, I am listening.

Xmas….. Happy holidays….

What are you going to ask for, for Christmas?

What is Santa going to bring you?

He sees you when you’re sleeping he knows when you’re awake…

Red and green and gold glitter ribbon, Christmas trees, yuletide log, hear those sleigh bells ringing? Frosty the snowman… Rudolph the red nose reindeer… oh the weather outside is frightening!  Schools out! Shopping, shopping, shopping, shopping,….Bah Humbug!

Oh Lord, wow!  You never say things like this.  You are trying to teach me something!!

Immediately Andy Williams and Bing Crosby sing “Happy Holiday, happy holiday, may the calendar keep bringing happy holidays to you… while the Merry bells keep ringing …may your every wish come true”….my thoughts are really seeming to go crazy!!!!!

I checked out the lyrics to that song and the last four verses have me laughing out loud…  I’m not going to go take a jack rabbit trail here but check it out ..it’s pretty hilarious….

https://www.bing.com/search?q=happy+holidays+lyric&form=APIPH1&PC=APPL

Let’s go back to the first song that I heard when I was waking up… All I want for Christmas is you…

I don’t want a lot for Christmas

There is just one thing I need

I don’t care about the presents
Underneath the Christmas tree

I just want you for my own
More than you could ever know
Make my wish come true
All I want for Christmas is you, yeah

I don’t want a lot for Christmas
There is just one thing I need
And I don’t care about the presents
Underneath the Christmas tree

I don’t need to hang my stocking
There upon the fireplace
Santa Claus won’t make me happy
With a toy on Christmas Day

I just want you for my own
More than you could ever know
Make my wish come true
All I want for Christmas is you
You, baby

Oh, I won’t ask for much this Christmas
I won’t even wish for snow
And I’m just gonna keep on waiting
Underneath the mistletoe

I won’t make a list and send it
To the North Pole for Saint Nick
I won’t even stay awake to
Hear those magic reindeer click

‘Cause I just want you here tonight
Holding on to me so tight
What more can I do?
Baby, all I want for Christmas is you
You, baby

Oh, all the lights are shining
So brightly everywhere
And the sound of children’s
Laughter fills the air

And everyone is singing
I hear those sleigh bells ringing
Santa, won’t you bring me the one I really need?
Won’t you please bring my baby to me?

Oh, I don’t want a lot for Christmas
This is all I’m asking for
I just want to see my baby
Standing right outside my door

Oh, I just want you for my own
More than you could ever know
Make my wish come true
Baby, all I want for Christmas is you
You, baby

I get the thought I could remake the words to this song so they would actually honor the real meaning of this holiday   I figure all I need to do is replace the word “baby” with “Jesus”, “Outside” for “inside,”  and just a few other changes….Hmmmmm…..

Lord, please speak to me, I am listening.

“My child, there is so much I can say about this … Yes, the world has made a mockery of my birth….  They want gifts, they want fun, they want distraction from the cares of this world, they want their girlfriend to love them, they want joy and peace.”

After the word “this” in the previous sentence…. the original words that came into my thoughts from the Lord were “My child, I can say so much about this “tragedy.””  After writing that sentence I went back and erased the word “tragedy” as I knew it would open up a can of worms… I wasn’t ready to open up a can of worms…and I really wasn’t sure I heard Him right…. So I erased it… then the Holy Spirit pricked my conscience …then knew I was to put it back in. He really meant it!  I looked up the definition of the word ‘tragedy.’ It means “an event that results in great loss or misfortune”

Please Lord speak to me, I am listening.

“I am the Lord your God, Deut 6,   I came to you as a servant, a lowly baby, I came not to be served, but to serve.  I came to be a ransom for many. Matt 20:28, Mark 10:45   I came to die so that you would have a way to my Father. John 14:6 And the devil in this world has made a mockery of my arrival to distract you from me”. John 8:44, John 10:10

Yes, Lord, I am sorry that I erased the word tragedy… please forgive me.  Please speak Lord, I am listening.

“My child, the tragedy is that the harvest is ready but the workers are few.  Luke 10:2 the tragedy is that the distractions of this world are the enemy… The enemy is the liar…he is the master of distraction. 2 Cor 2:11 His job is to steal, kill, and destroy any thought that I AM who I AM.” John 10:10

I was led to read John chapter 15 and chapter 16… Wow! I encourage you to go there…and pray for understanding while you read.

It’s about him being the true vine. And he cuts off every branch that does not bear fruit… So that we can be even more fruitful… It’s about how he chose us, not us choosing him. It is about Him choosing us to bear fruit… It is about learning to abide in Jesus, if we remain in him we will bear fruit but apart from him we can do nothing… he says if you remain in him you can ask for whatever you wish and it will be done for you …

I thank you, Jesus, for your Word is a light unto my path… Please speak, for I’m listening.

“Do you abide in me, my child? Do you rest in me and focus on me and worship me?  It is I who came, not Santa Claus! It is I who sees you when you’re sleeping and when you’re awake!   The world’s enemy has distracted the children. This is a tragedy!  The enemy is trying to steal the truth from the hearts of the children.

“He called a little child to him, and placed the child among them. And he said: “Truly I tell you, unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven. Therefore, whoever takes the lowly position of this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven. And whoever welcomes one such child in my name welcomes me. “If anyone causes one of these little ones—those who believe in me—to stumble, it would be better for them to have a large millstone hung around their neck and to be drowned in the depths of the sea.”

Matthew 18:2-6 NIV

Wow, Lord, this is really important… Lord forgive me!

Yes, Jesus, I understand!  It is for our Father’s glory we bear fruit. We don’t want to be a stumbling block to others.  Your Word, in the book of John, especially teaches us to love one another… It says if you are my friend, you will do what I command… you teach us to love each other as you have loved us… to love enough to lay down our lives for friends… just like you did for us…John 14:15 says “If you love Me, you will obey my commands,”   John 14:21 “Whoever has my commands and keeps them is the one who loves me.  The one who loves me will be loved by my Father, and I too will love them and show myself to them.”

 

………to be continued…………

 

